Figure

To keep close to my blog theme, I thought of talking about someone who I personally have idolized for quite some time and tell you a little about her. Winona Ryder would be the first person that comes to mind when coming up with a head figure that I admire. At age 14, she was casted in her first film, Lucas, where she just had a minor role and from that she was in another small film, Square Dance.

“Both films gave her no recognition, but that didn’t stop her from auditioning for different movies.”

When she was casted the roll of Lydia Deetz, for Beetlejuice directed by Tim Burton in 1988, the film blew up, which had casting directors seeking for her talent. She went on to play the character Veronica Sawyer in Heathers in 1988 as well. By this time her talents had hit the highest peak, and she was only 17 years old. In 1990, with her boyfriend at the time, Johnny Depp and Winona were casted by another Tim Burton film, Edward Scissorhands. In the 90s she did movies such as: Mermaids, Dracula, and Little Women. Now in her 20’s she made the movie, The Crucible starring as Abigail Williams. With the high grossing of this movie she stood out on top. She later went on to be in the Alien trilogy, which her brother wanted her to audition for because he was a fan. Then coming into year 2000, she was awarded with her own star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. With such accomplishments she went off to make little short films, but has always been in the lime light. Her most recent movie was in 2012, just voicing a character in Frankenweenie, where she teamed up with Tim Burton once more.

Not only is she one of my favorite actresses but she also dated Johnny Depp had long goals that she eventually accomplished because she pushed herself to get seen. I admire her for the fact that she is one of the many women in the world that had a dream and now is living that dream. I feel that with a craft that I would want to pursue in, I’d have to push my way through to get somewhere. She has encouraged me to really go for what I want to do with my life, and even though I’ve never met her, it’s just the message that has inspired me.

One thought on “Figure

Leave a Reply

